Skip to main content

New Schools of Sanctuary for 2020

We have now awarded 42 schools the status of School of Sanctuary, including 14 new Schools of Sanctuary in Belfast/Lisburn and in Derry/Londonderry.
The schools awarded this year are
Carr’s Glen PS
Ballysillan  PS
Glenwood PS
Edenbrooke PS
St Paul’s PS
St Vincent de Paul PS
St Colm’s High School
All Saint’s College
Ashfield Girls’ High School
Tonagh PS (Lisburn)
Killowen PS (Lisburn)
Gailscoil Eadain Mhoir
St Joseph’s Boy’s School
St Eugene’s Primary School
Prior to assessing schools for the Award, members from Belfast City of Sanctuary went into schools to do some cultural awareness workshops with pupils and staff.
Congratulations to our new Schools of Sanctuary in achieving this prestigious award, and thanks to the Intercultural Service of the Education Authority for the sterling work they have done in preparing these Schools for the Award. This award has only been made possible by generous support from the Urban Villages Initiative of The Executive Office.
See information about Schools of Sanctuary below….